America’s Horse

Today I’d like to share with you how the American Quarter Horse has had an impact on my life. Ever since I was a little girl I always dreamed of owning or having a horse. I finally was able to make this dream a reality Christmas of my twelve year old year. Although my first horse was not a quarter horse he was a horse that showed me the versatility of the quarter horse. Dandy, my first horse, taught me to ride but Apache my second horse and first American Quarter Horse taught me how to work hard for what you want and you can succeed. Apache carried me to the winner’s circle I don’t know how many times but horses are an ever learning experience and my next horse The Weapon continued teaching me how to lose and how to persevere. Now those horses are gone but what they taught me helps me make Joker, my third American Quarter Horse, a better horse than any of the others before him. Registered as Dusty’s Cream Bar he will hopefully be making an appearance in the barrel racing world before long. Aptly named Joker, he was born on April 1st, 2008. I really believe he will be special as he has a wonderful mind, something strongly sought after in the competition horse world, and the ability to go along with it. Although he is not out of barrel racing royalty I have high hopes for my little yellow fellow. He will carry me into my next journey and I cannot imagine going without being astride an American Quarter Horse. DSC04282_2_3

Leave a Reply

